Foodvisor advertises photo, voice, text and barcode logging, plus nutrition programmes in Premium. MacroLog offers photo and voice in Pro and keeps manual search and unlimited barcode scanning free. [1]
Facts as of 10 September 2026. Published by MacroLog, the maker of one of the apps compared. We are not neutral. Rival facts were checked on 10 September 2026 using vendor sources and the verified articles cited below.
At a glance
Feature comparison
| Feature | MacroLog | Foodvisor |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. Free forever, no card. | Free download. The vendor lists logging tools but does not clearly specify the free allowance for barcode, photo or macro features. [1][3] |
| Barcode scanner | Free, unlimited. | Available; free-tier entitlement is not stated clearly. [1] |
| Macros and nutrients | Basic stats free; 12 micronutrients in Pro. | Macro tracking is advertised; detailed vitamin and mineral analysis is listed under Premium. [1] |
| AI photo logging | Pro; photo and voice need internet. | Photo and voice logging are advertised. The checked descriptions do not state a free scan limit. [1][3] |
| Apple Health | Supported on iOS; full data scope below. | Apple Health sync is advertised; a per-data-type read/write list is not stated in the listing. [1] |
| Health Connect | Supported on Android; full data scope below. | Not stated by vendor in the checked descriptions; Android listing names Google Fit. [3] |
| Platforms | iOS and Android; no web app. | iOS and Android. [1][3] |
| USD prices: US offers | Pro: $5.99/month or $49/year in the US. The first week costs $2: a paid trial, not a free trial. Prices vary by country and store. | Labelled one-month purchases: $14.99, $29.99 or $39.99. A labelled annual price is not stated. [1] |
| PLN prices: Polish offers | Prices vary by country and store. Check the Polish purchase screen; the USD amounts above are US prices. | Premium purchases: 129.99 or 149.99 zł. Monthly/annual periods are not stated; Max, Family and Gems are separate items. [2] |
Store entries can be different offers. Amounts with no stated period are not presented as monthly or annual prices.
Foodvisor: what the vendor documents
The Premium list covers personalised nutrition programmes, recipes and full meal analysis. The listings also advertise voice logging, so an older comparison that presents voice as exclusive to MacroLog no longer reflects the vendor's description. A free download alone does not establish which of these tools you can use indefinitely without paying. [1]
- Annual USD pricing, monthly/annual PLN pricing, free logging allowances, Health Connect and detailed Apple Health data directions remain unverified.
MacroLog: free and Pro
Logging works offline with local storage, except AI photo and voice logging, which need internet. Multi-device sync is planned and is not available today. Data export is a Pro feature.
- Manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. Free forever, no card.
- Pro adds AI photo logging, voice logging, 12 tracked micronutrients and CSV/JSON export. Photo and voice use Gemini and need internet access. Accuracy is not guaranteed; low-confidence items are flagged for your review.
- MacroLog is available on iOS and Android, with no web app. Multi-device sync is planned. Photo and voice logging require both Pro and internet access.
Apple Health on iOS / Health Connect on Android: writes calories, protein, carbs, fat, 12 micronutrients, water and weight; reads weight (two-way), steps and active energy. Steps and active energy are informational only and never change the calorie budget.
Health sync and daily use
Apple Health sync is advertised; a per-data-type read/write list is not stated in the listing. [1]
Not stated by vendor in the checked descriptions; Android listing names Google Fit. [3]
Check both the data type and its direction. A connection badge does not promise that a complete food diary will move between apps. MacroLog multi-device sync is planned, and health integration does not change that status.
Prices and billing periods
Prices were read on 10 September 2026. USD amounts refer to US offers; PLN amounts come from the Polish App Store. We did not convert currencies. The table distinguishes named billing periods from purchases with no stated duration.
Pro: $5.99/month or $49/year in the US. The first week costs $2: a paid trial, not a free trial. Prices vary by country and store.
A store listing can include several prices for the same plan. The final purchase screen determines the amount, billing period and renewal terms offered to you. A free download is not proof of an ongoing free subscription.
Which fits your needs?
Consider Foodvisor if its Premium programmes and recipes are what you need. Consider MacroLog if its explicit free scanner and local diary fit your routine. We have not compared the quality of their photo estimates. [1]
- Manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. Free forever, no card.
- MacroLog is available on iOS and Android, with no web app. Multi-device sync is planned. Photo and voice logging require both Pro and internet access.
Frequently asked questions
What this does not solve
- We did not run a side-by-side app test, measure photo accuracy or check every regional paywall. Vendor descriptions establish advertised availability, not measured performance.
- Annual USD pricing, monthly/annual PLN pricing, free logging allowances, Health Connect and detailed Apple Health data directions remain unverified.
- MacroLog is available on iOS and Android, with no web app. Multi-device sync is planned. Photo and voice logging require both Pro and internet access.
What this is based on
MacroLog publishes this page and is not neutral. Sources below were read on 10 September 2026 through browser retrieval or the verified sibling articles explicitly identified here. Command-line curl requests failed with DNS errors.
- US App Store — read 10 September 2026
- Polish App Store — read 10 September 2026
- Google Play (Android; fallback listing) — read 10 September 2026
Unsuccessful source checks on 10 September 2026:
- Google Play, Poland (hl=pl, gl=PL) — attempted 10 September 2026; unavailable in this run. No unsupported facts were inferred from it.
- Vendor product/help page — attempted 10 September 2026; unavailable in this run. No unsupported facts were inferred from it.
MacroLog features and prices follow our product documentation, reviewed 10 September 2026. Unverified rival features are marked as not stated in the checked sources.