Lose It! keeps basic calorie tracking free and lists barcode, photo, voice and advanced macro tracking under Premium. MacroLog includes unlimited barcode scanning in its free tier and photo and voice in Pro. [1]
Facts as of 10 September 2026. Published by MacroLog, the maker of one of the apps compared. We are not neutral. Rival facts were checked on 10 September 2026 using vendor sources and the verified articles cited below.
At a glance
| What you need | What to check |
|---|---|
| Logging without a subscription | Calorie tracking, a personalised weight-loss plan, friends and support groups. [1] |
| Photo logging | Photo Meal Logging and AI Voice are Premium features. [1] |
| A local MacroLog diary | Logging works offline with local storage, except AI photo and voice logging, which need internet. Multi-device sync is planned and is not available today. Data export is a Pro feature. |
Feature comparison
| Feature | MacroLog | Lose It! |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. Free forever, no card. | Calorie tracking, a personalised weight-loss plan, friends and support groups. [1] |
| Barcode scanner | Free, unlimited. | Premium. [1] |
| Macros and nutrients | Basic stats free; 12 micronutrients in Pro. | Advanced macro tracking is listed under Premium. [1] |
| AI photo logging | Pro; photo and voice need internet. | Photo Meal Logging and AI Voice are Premium features. [1] |
| Apple Health | Supported on iOS; full data scope below. | HealthKit is listed under Premium fitness-app syncs; the listing does not specify individual data directions. [1][3] |
| Health Connect | Supported on Android; full data scope below. | Not stated by vendor in the checked listings; Google Fit is named. [1][4] |
| Platforms | iOS and Android; no web app. | iOS and Android. [1][4] |
| USD prices: US offers | Pro: $5.99/month or $49/year in the US. The first week costs $2: a paid trial, not a free trial. Prices vary by country and store. | Monthly and annual periods are not attached to the listed Premium amounts. Lifetime offers are $49.99 or $59.99, paid once. [1][5] |
| PLN prices: Polish offers | Prices vary by country and store. Check the Polish purchase screen; the USD amounts above are US prices. | Monthly/annual periods are not stated for Premium items. Lifetime offers are 229.99 or 299.99 zł. [2] |
Store entries can be different offers. Amounts with no stated period are not presented as monthly or annual prices.
Lose It!: what the vendor documents
Lose It!'s free-plan list includes a calorie budget and community support. Premium expands the input methods and nutritional detail. Its store listing also contains lifetime purchases, but those entries do not prove that every account will see a lifetime offer at the same price. [1]
HealthKit is listed under Premium fitness-app syncs; the listing does not specify individual data directions. [1][3]
Not stated by vendor in the checked listings; Google Fit is named. [1][4]
MacroLog: free and Pro
Manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. Free forever, no card.
Pro adds AI photo logging, voice logging, 12 tracked micronutrients and CSV/JSON export. Photo and voice use Gemini and need internet access. Accuracy is not guaranteed; low-confidence items are flagged for your review.
Logging works offline with local storage, except AI photo and voice logging, which need internet. Multi-device sync is planned and is not available today. Data export is a Pro feature.
Apple Health on iOS / Health Connect on Android: writes calories, protein, carbs, fat, 12 micronutrients, water and weight; reads weight (two-way), steps and active energy. Steps and active energy are informational only and never change the calorie budget.
Which fits your needs?
Consider Lose It! if its community tools or a lifetime offer shown to your account matter to you. Consider MacroLog if you want barcode scanning without paying for Premium. Photo and voice logging are paid features in both. [1]
What this does not solve
- We did not run a side-by-side app test, measure photo accuracy or check every regional paywall. Vendor descriptions establish advertised availability, not measured performance.
- We could not verify current monthly/annual billing amounts in either currency, Health Connect support or the detailed HealthKit data list.
- MacroLog is available on iOS and Android, with no web app. Multi-device sync is planned. Photo and voice logging require both Pro and internet access.
What this is based on
MacroLog publishes this page and is not neutral. Sources below were read on 10 September 2026 through browser retrieval or the verified sibling articles explicitly identified here. Command-line curl requests failed with DNS errors.
- US App Store — read 10 September 2026
- Polish App Store — read 10 September 2026
- Health-sync guide, verified today — read 10 September 2026. Verified sibling article; the original vendor sources are linked there.
- Google Play (Android; fallback listing) — read 10 September 2026
- MyFitnessPal alternatives, verified today — read 10 September 2026. Verified sibling article; the original vendor sources are linked there.
Unsuccessful source checks on 10 September 2026:
- Google Play, Poland (hl=pl, gl=PL) — attempted 10 September 2026; unavailable in this run. No unsupported facts were inferred from it.
- Vendor product/help page — attempted 10 September 2026; unavailable in this run. No unsupported facts were inferred from it.
MacroLog features and prices follow our product documentation, reviewed 10 September 2026. Unverified rival features are marked as not stated in the checked sources.