YAZIO includes a free calorie diary and barcode scanner, while AI meal logging is in Pro. MacroLog also offers free barcode scanning and paid photo logging. Their health integrations need a more detailed comparison than a yes/no badge. [1][3]
Facts as of 10 September 2026. Published by MacroLog, the maker of one of the apps compared. We are not neutral. Rival facts were checked on 10 September 2026 using vendor sources and the verified articles cited below.
Feature comparison
| Feature | MacroLog | YAZIO |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. Free forever, no card. | Calorie diary, barcode scanner, water tracking and access without registration; today's Polish comparison records ads in the free plan. [3] |
| Barcode scanner | Free, unlimited. | Free. [3] |
| Macros and nutrients | Basic stats free; 12 micronutrients in Pro. | Macro tracking is advertised; the checked free-plan description does not specify all macro controls. [1][3] |
| AI photo logging | Pro; photo and voice need internet. | AI calorie and meal tracking is Pro. [3] |
| Apple Health | Supported on iOS; full data scope below. | Help lists activity, weight, waist and glucose imports; activity, body values and macro/micronutrient exports. [4] |
| Health Connect | Supported on Android; full data scope below. | Explicitly supported in the help centre; available data depends on permissions and connected apps. [5] |
| Platforms | iOS and Android; no web app. | iOS and Android. [1][5] |
| USD prices: US offers | Pro: $5.99/month or $49/year in the US. The first week costs $2: a paid trial, not a free trial. Prices vary by country and store. | 12-month offers: $23.90 or $47.90. A one-month price is not stated; 3-month and semiannual offers are separate. [1] |
| PLN prices: Polish offers | Prices vary by country and store. Check the Polish purchase screen; the USD amounts above are US prices. | PRO purchases span 44.99–159.00 zł. Labelled 12-month offers: 64.99, 129.99 or 159.00 zł; a one-month price is not stated. [2][3] |
Store entries can be different offers. Amounts with no stated period are not presented as monthly or annual prices.
Photo logging and its limits
AI calorie and meal tracking is Pro. [3]
Pro adds AI photo logging, voice logging, 12 tracked micronutrients and CSV/JSON export. Photo and voice use Gemini and need internet access. Accuracy is not guaranteed; low-confidence items are flagged for your review.
This page has no measured comparison of recognition accuracy or logging speed. Check the identified food and portion before relying on the result.
YAZIO: what the vendor documents
YAZIO's current help confirms both Apple Health and Health Connect. Today's Fitatu–YAZIO page says those names are absent from the store description it checked; the dedicated help pages supply the missing detail. Free barcode scanning is shared with MacroLog, while AI meal logging requires the paid plan in both. [3][4][5]
Help lists activity, weight, waist and glucose imports; activity, body values and macro/micronutrient exports. [4]
Explicitly supported in the help centre; available data depends on permissions and connected apps. [5]
MacroLog: free and Pro
Manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. Free forever, no card.
Pro adds AI photo logging, voice logging, 12 tracked micronutrients and CSV/JSON export. Photo and voice use Gemini and need internet access. Accuracy is not guaranteed; low-confidence items are flagged for your review.
Logging works offline with local storage, except AI photo and voice logging, which need internet. Multi-device sync is planned and is not available today. Data export is a Pro feature.
Apple Health on iOS / Health Connect on Android: writes calories, protein, carbs, fat, 12 micronutrients, water and weight; reads weight (two-way), steps and active energy. Steps and active energy are informational only and never change the calorie budget.
Prices and billing periods
Prices were read on 10 September 2026. USD amounts refer to US offers; PLN amounts come from the Polish App Store. We did not convert currencies. The table distinguishes named billing periods from purchases with no stated duration.
Pro: $5.99/month or $49/year in the US. The first week costs $2: a paid trial, not a free trial. Prices vary by country and store.
A store listing can include several prices for the same plan. The final purchase screen determines the amount, billing period and renewal terms offered to you. A free download is not proof of an ongoing free subscription.
Which fits your needs?
Consider YAZIO if its diary, water tracking and Pro recipes fit your routine. Consider MacroLog if local storage and CSV/JSON export in Pro are priorities. Barcode scanning alone is not a reason to pay for either app. [3][4][5]
What this does not solve
- We did not run a side-by-side app test, measure photo accuracy or check every regional paywall. Vendor descriptions establish advertised availability, not measured performance.
- A one-month subscription price in either currency and the complete free macro-feature split remain unverified. The vendor Pro page was unreachable; prices use store listings and today's Polish sibling page.
- MacroLog is available on iOS and Android, with no web app. Multi-device sync is planned. Photo and voice logging require both Pro and internet access.
What this is based on
MacroLog publishes this page and is not neutral. Sources below were read on 10 September 2026 through browser retrieval or the verified sibling articles explicitly identified here. Command-line curl requests failed with DNS errors.
- US App Store — read 10 September 2026
- Polish App Store — read 10 September 2026
- Fitatu–YAZIO comparison, verified today — read 10 September 2026. Verified sibling article; the original vendor sources are linked there.
- Vendor Apple Health documentation — read 10 September 2026
- Vendor Health Connect / Android documentation — read 10 September 2026
Unsuccessful source checks on 10 September 2026:
- Google Play, Poland (hl=pl, gl=PL) — attempted 10 September 2026; unavailable in this run. No unsupported facts were inferred from it.
- Vendor product/help page — attempted 10 September 2026; unavailable in this run. No unsupported facts were inferred from it.
MacroLog features and prices follow our product documentation, reviewed 10 September 2026. Unverified rival features are marked as not stated in the checked sources.
