Noom combines food logging with lessons and paid programmes. It now documents photo, voice and text meal logging, with regional restrictions. MacroLog's free plan covers search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. [1][4][3]
Facts as of 10 September 2026. Published by MacroLog, the maker of one of the apps compared. We are not neutral. Rival facts were checked on 10 September 2026 using vendor sources and the verified articles cited below.
At a glance
Feature comparison
| Feature | MacroLog | Noom |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. Free forever, no card. | Selected lessons and movement tracking; meal logging depends on location and app version. Free barcode, photo and macro entitlements are not fully stated. [4] |
| Barcode scanner | Free, unlimited. | Free-tier barcode entitlement is not stated in the checked help pages. [4] |
| Macros and nutrients | Basic stats free; 12 micronutrients in Pro. | Calorie and macro tracking are advertised; the free-plan help does not promise full macro tracking. [1][4] |
| AI photo logging | Pro; photo and voice need internet. | Photo, voice and text logging: available to most users in the US, Canada, Australia and Great Britain on current iOS/Android versions. Poland is not listed. [5] |
| Apple Health | Supported on iOS; full data scope below. | Apple Health connection is documented; supported permissions include steps, weight, energy, glucose, water, mindfulness and movement. Availability depends on the programme. [6][7] |
| Health Connect | Supported on Android; full data scope below. | Listed as an Android integration; the vendor says Android app integrations sync steps and weight. [8] |
| Platforms | iOS and Android; no web app. | iOS and Android. [4][5] |
| USD prices: US offers | Pro: $5.99/month or $49/year in the US. The first week costs $2: a paid trial, not a free trial. Prices vary by country and store. | Noom Weight: $70/month or $209 for 12 months, before taxes/discounts. Prices can vary by promotion and signup method; medication is not included. [3] |
| PLN prices: Polish offers | Prices vary by country and store. Check the Polish purchase screen; the USD amounts above are US prices. | Noom Program purchases: 179.99–1,099.99 zł; monthly/annual periods are not stated. Noom Pro items are separate. [2] |
Store entries can be different offers. Amounts with no stated period are not presented as monthly or annual prices.
Noom: what the vendor documents
Noom's current help describes AI food logging and a free experience, so neither “no photo recognition” nor “no free version” is a safe summary. Region is the more useful distinction: the photo help names four countries and does not confirm access in Poland. A Polish App Store listing is not evidence that every feature is available there. [4][5]
Apple Health connection is documented; supported permissions include steps, weight, energy, glucose, water, mindfulness and movement. Availability depends on the programme. [6][7]
Listed as an Android integration; the vendor says Android app integrations sync steps and weight. [8]
MacroLog: free and Pro
Manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. Free forever, no card.
Pro adds AI photo logging, voice logging, 12 tracked micronutrients and CSV/JSON export. Photo and voice use Gemini and need internet access. Accuracy is not guaranteed; low-confidence items are flagged for your review.
Logging works offline with local storage, except AI photo and voice logging, which need internet. Multi-device sync is planned and is not available today. Data export is a Pro feature.
Apple Health on iOS / Health Connect on Android: writes calories, protein, carbs, fat, 12 micronutrients, water and weight; reads weight (two-way), steps and active energy. Steps and active energy are informational only and never change the calorie budget.
Prices and billing periods
Prices were read on 10 September 2026. USD amounts refer to US offers; PLN amounts come from the Polish App Store. We did not convert currencies. The table distinguishes named billing periods from purchases with no stated duration.
Pro: $5.99/month or $49/year in the US. The first week costs $2: a paid trial, not a free trial. Prices vary by country and store.
A store listing can include several prices for the same plan. The final purchase screen determines the amount, billing period and renewal terms offered to you. A free download is not proof of an ongoing free subscription.
Before choosing a plan
Confirm the features available in your country before subscribing. Noom Weight prices in the table exclude medication and may differ with promotions or signup method. [3][5]
Which fits your needs?
Consider Noom if its lessons and paid programme match what you want, after checking regional availability. Consider MacroLog for a local food diary with a documented free scanner and optional Pro logging tools. This comparison does not assess weight-loss outcomes. [4][5]
Frequently asked questions
Does Noom support photo logging?
Photo, voice and text logging: available to most users in the US, Canada, Australia and Great Britain on current iOS/Android versions. Poland is not listed. [5]
What stays free?
Selected lessons and movement tracking; meal logging depends on location and app version. Free barcode, photo and macro entitlements are not fully stated. [4] MacroLog includes manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage free.
Can MacroLog sync my diary between devices?
Logging works offline with local storage, except AI photo and voice logging, which need internet. Multi-device sync is planned and is not available today. Data export is a Pro feature.
What this does not solve
- We did not run a side-by-side app test, measure photo accuracy or check every regional paywall. Vendor descriptions establish advertised availability, not measured performance.
- PLN monthly/annual periods, Polish photo-logging access and the full free barcode/macro/photo split remain unverified. Noom's Apple Health page does not assign every data type a read/write direction.
- MacroLog is available on iOS and Android, with no web app. Multi-device sync is planned. Photo and voice logging require both Pro and internet access.
What this is based on
MacroLog publishes this page and is not neutral. Sources below were read on 10 September 2026 through browser retrieval or the verified sibling articles explicitly identified here. Command-line curl requests failed with DNS errors.
- US App Store — read 10 September 2026
- Polish App Store — read 10 September 2026
- Vendor pricing — read 10 September 2026
- Vendor free-plan help — read 10 September 2026
- Vendor photo logging help — read 10 September 2026
- Vendor Apple Health documentation — read 10 September 2026
- Health-sync guide, verified today — read 10 September 2026. Verified sibling article; the original vendor sources are linked there.
- Vendor Health Connect / Android documentation — read 10 September 2026
Unsuccessful source checks on 10 September 2026:
- Google Play, Poland (hl=pl, gl=PL) — attempted 10 September 2026; unavailable in this run. No unsupported facts were inferred from it.
MacroLog features and prices follow our product documentation, reviewed 10 September 2026. Unverified rival features are marked as not stated in the checked sources.