Lifesum now supports AI photo and voice logging in Premium. MacroLog offers both in Pro. The useful comparison is what each plan includes, how much the actual offer costs and what reaches your health app. [1][5][3]
Facts as of 10 September 2026. Published by MacroLog, the maker of one of the apps compared. We are not neutral. Rival facts were checked on 10 September 2026 using vendor sources and the verified articles cited below.
At a glance
Feature comparison
| Feature | MacroLog | Lifesum |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. Free forever, no card. | A limited free version is stated. The checked listing does not itemise its barcode and macro entitlements. [2][4] |
| Barcode scanner | Free, unlimited. | Available; classic barcode scanning's free-tier entitlement is not specified in the checked sources. [2][5] |
| Macros and nutrients | Basic stats free; 12 micronutrients in Pro. | Macro tracking is advertised; the free/premium split is not itemised in the listing. [2] |
| AI photo logging | Pro; photo and voice need internet. | Photo, voice and text AI Tracking are Premium features. [5] |
| Apple Health | Supported on iOS; full data scope below. | Writes food calories, nutrition, weight and water; reads exercise calories, steps, active calories, exercise time, workouts and weight. [6] |
| Health Connect | Supported on Android; full data scope below. | Supported, but the help page says meals logged with AI/Multimodal Tracking are not sent to Health Connect. [7] |
| Platforms | iOS and Android; no web app. | iOS and Android. [6][7] |
| USD prices: US offers | Pro: $5.99/month or $49/year in the US. The first week costs $2: a paid trial, not a free trial. Prices vary by country and store. | Annual purchases: $99.99 or $119.99. A one-month card shows $7.49 labelled “Trial”; a regular monthly renewal price is not stated there. The $44.99 item has no billing period. [1] |
| PLN prices: Polish offers | Prices vary by country and store. Check the Polish purchase screen; the USD amounts above are US prices. | Monthly purchases: 24.99, 34.99 or 47.99 zł; annual purchases: 167.99, 169.99 or 244.99 zł. [2] |
Store entries can be different offers. Amounts with no stated period are not presented as monthly or annual prices.
Lifesum: what the vendor documents
Lifesum's AI help explains how to switch between AI and classic tracking and review or edit recognised food. Its health documentation adds a material limitation: AI entries are currently excluded from Health Connect export. If Android nutrition export is your reason to subscribe, read that restriction before choosing a logging method. [5][7]
- A regular US monthly renewal price, exact free barcode/macro entitlements and offline behaviour remain unverified.
MacroLog: free and Pro
Logging works offline with local storage, except AI photo and voice logging, which need internet. Multi-device sync is planned and is not available today. Data export is a Pro feature.
- Manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. Free forever, no card.
- Pro adds AI photo logging, voice logging, 12 tracked micronutrients and CSV/JSON export. Photo and voice use Gemini and need internet access. Accuracy is not guaranteed; low-confidence items are flagged for your review.
- MacroLog is available on iOS and Android, with no web app. Multi-device sync is planned. Photo and voice logging require both Pro and internet access.
Apple Health on iOS / Health Connect on Android: writes calories, protein, carbs, fat, 12 micronutrients, water and weight; reads weight (two-way), steps and active energy. Steps and active energy are informational only and never change the calorie budget.
Health sync and daily use
Writes food calories, nutrition, weight and water; reads exercise calories, steps, active calories, exercise time, workouts and weight. [6]
Supported, but the help page says meals logged with AI/Multimodal Tracking are not sent to Health Connect. [7]
Check both the data type and its direction. A connection badge does not promise that a complete food diary will move between apps. MacroLog multi-device sync is planned, and health integration does not change that status.
Prices and billing periods
Prices were read on 10 September 2026. USD amounts refer to US offers; PLN amounts come from the Polish App Store. We did not convert currencies. The table distinguishes named billing periods from purchases with no stated duration.
Pro: $5.99/month or $49/year in the US. The first week costs $2: a paid trial, not a free trial. Prices vary by country and store.
A store listing can include several prices for the same plan. The final purchase screen determines the amount, billing period and renewal terms offered to you. A free download is not proof of an ongoing free subscription.
Which fits your needs?
Consider Lifesum if its meal plans and Premium AI tools suit you. Consider MacroLog if free unlimited barcode scanning, local storage and Pro export are your priorities. Both offer photo logging; we have no measured basis for ranking their accuracy. [5][7]
- Manual search, unlimited barcode scanning, basic stats and local storage. Free forever, no card.
- MacroLog is available on iOS and Android, with no web app. Multi-device sync is planned. Photo and voice logging require both Pro and internet access.
Frequently asked questions
What this does not solve
- We did not run a side-by-side app test, measure photo accuracy or check every regional paywall. Vendor descriptions establish advertised availability, not measured performance.
- A regular US monthly renewal price, exact free barcode/macro entitlements and offline behaviour remain unverified.
- MacroLog is available on iOS and Android, with no web app. Multi-device sync is planned. Photo and voice logging require both Pro and internet access.
What this is based on
MacroLog publishes this page and is not neutral. Sources below were read on 10 September 2026 through browser retrieval or the verified sibling articles explicitly identified here. Command-line curl requests failed with DNS errors.
- US App Store — read 10 September 2026
- Polish App Store — read 10 September 2026
- Vendor product/help page — read 10 September 2026
- Polish alternatives guide, verified today — read 10 September 2026. Verified sibling article; the original vendor sources are linked there.
- Vendor photo logging help — read 10 September 2026
- Vendor Apple Health documentation — read 10 September 2026
- Vendor Health Connect / Android documentation — read 10 September 2026
Unsuccessful source checks on 10 September 2026:
- Google Play, Poland (hl=pl, gl=PL) — attempted 10 September 2026; unavailable in this run. No unsupported facts were inferred from it.
MacroLog features and prices follow our product documentation, reviewed 10 September 2026. Unverified rival features are marked as not stated in the checked sources.